My KLR

Frank

Explorer
KLR #2 starts on page 7

Finally, after many years of wanting, today I rode one into my garage that I call mine.

I have been searching for an adventure bike for some time. I've looked at vstroms, KTM's, DR's, BMW's, and just about everything in between. I have been tracking KLR bikes for about the last three months or so and finally sourced one for what I thought was an amazing deal.

The bike is amazing. They will go anywhere. The aftermarket community is amazing. These bikes are very easy to maintain and just all around an awesome bike. The KLR is arguably the best bang for the buck adventure bike.

It came with things I had intended to purchase as soon as I had the bike anyways. These bikes are so choked up from the factory its retarded.

$3600 got me a 2008 Kawasaki KLR with 2600 miles on it.
It came with:
Super trap IDS2 exhaust
rejetted carb (Moose Racing)
UNI filter / removal of the restriction bullcrap
Moose pegs
MSR Skid plate
Maier hand guards
14t sprocket
New Kenda tires

Future plans are Happy-Trail.com hard bags and cogent moab suspension and put emulators in my front forks. Happy-trail windscreen kit is also in the near future. Ultimate goal is Indiana to Alaska 2013

My new bike by Frank Vest, on Flickr

Untitled by Frank Vest, on Flickr

Taken a year later

GOPR1118-4 by Frank Vest, on Flickr
I will continue to update this thread.

Last edited:

alan

Explorer
nice bike frank!
you got a bargain there, I'm looking at buying the same thing as you say great value for money.

Frank

Explorer
Keep your eye out. I was lucky and this one was about 20min down the road from me. search-tempest searches all craigslist ads within the radius you set. KLR owners seem to hold onto their bikes, thats for sure!

If you are where there is a "riding season" ...this is the perfect time to buy. People dont want to store their bikes...as this was the case.