2003 Honda xr650L Any Recommended Mods?

WAND3R3R

Adventurer
I am new to the off-road motorcycle world, I have had a few road bikes but have little off road experience. I recently purchased a 2003 Honda xr650L and I am looking for any recommended modifications to the bike from fellow owners. My intent is to ride 75 % of the time off road, I plan to take it with my truck-camper set up and use the Honda to reach places my camper cannot go in order to pursue photography.
Thanks!

texasguy

akblack,

Good choice. I have a 2007 and for a simple dual-sport, you can't go wrong. We also use ours when camping to go places the truck won't go and have no problem 2-upping on most trails - the wife is fearless. Likewise, being street legal allows us to get to and from trails and travel in between as necessary and while not a power house or as off-road capable as other bikes I have had, it's a decent compromise for exploring and allows 2-upping. Most XR's get modified during their lifetime so some of the mods I am recommending may already be done on yours. If stock, following would be my list of priorities:

If you are not familiar with advrider.com, I suggest going there, look under thumpers and then under the XR650L thread.

Basic Mods:
Decork and jetting. First order of business is to remove the smog gear and add block offs if not already done. The XR's in general come from the factory lean and need to be rejetted. Do what is known as "Dave's mods". You can find the instructions for decorking and Dave's mods at various places on the world web. These mods are not necessarily just for power improvement but to get the bike running better, cooler and often better gas mileage. But if doing it just for more power is wrong, I don't wanna be right.
Foam airfilter (UNI or K&N are popular choices)