Water crossings and 05+ tacoma EVAP system

zolo

Explorer
Well, Ive driven my truck through a fair number of water crossing. Some when it was newer and had less miles equaling to less wear and tear on the various components. The truck now has 105,000 miles all of which Ive put on it. They have not been easy miles.

Recently I was exploring a new area this past week and it had a small water crossing nothing crazy the road was built for it and the river bed was all rock and shallow. Maybe 2' at the deepest. However after that crossing the truck (2006 Tacoma) displayed a check engine light a few nights latter when is was very cold at night.
I'm a mechanic and have a pretty nice scanner, a Snap-On Verus. So it will read all of the systems on the Toyota brand.
It displayed 5 codes.
PO43E- Evap Emission system leak detection reference orifice low flow.
PO43F- Evap Emission system leak detection reference orifice high flow.
P2401- Evap Emission system leak detection pump stuck off.
P2402- Evap Emission system leak detection pump stuck on.
P2419- Evap Emission Pressure switching valve stuck on.

A little info about the pump and the EVAP system. After the truck is shut down and after it sits for a while the pump turns on and pressurizes the system to check for possible leaks. It has pressure sensors and a small pump and If it doesn't hold pressure it will set a code for EVAP Emission leak small or large depending on what it reads.

Now all of these various parts are located in the same place and bolted to the Carbon canister. It sits right under the bed and on top of a cross member from frame rail to frame rail. Toyota does not sell the pump or valve separate from the whole carbon canister. My cost on the canister was $360. I started to think why that would have failed?

I then realized the river crossing days before the issue might have a part in all this. Also realizing the freezing temp at night on the days the Check engine light came on.