overall trailer length?

i was wondering what the overall length of most of the trailers everyone on here are running. just looking for the general idea on whats to long. i have a utility trailer that is 6'4"x12'. overall length is 16'. m yidea is to buy a contractor top to cover about 8' of it and use the other 4' for storage/"back porch". i will be doing forest service roads at the extreme end of my camping (mon national forest, GWNF). no rubicon/rock crawling. would my set up be considered to long? i have no real experience pulling a trailer off-road (but plenty on road). if this set up would prove to be too long, what would be a good overall length to shoot for? what's your number? thanks.

cnynrat

Expedition Leader
For some perspective, here are some overall length specs from Adventure Trailers' website:

AT Horizon: 124"
AT Chaser: 141"
AT Teardrop: 150"

So, they are in the 10-12 foot range. I think for most forest service roads you could go a lot longer than the AT products without too much difficulty. In my experience with a Horizon, length will become an issue on really tight turns, if you ever need to turn around (e.g. heading down a dirt road only to arrive at a gate or unexpected dead end), and in a more limited sense when looking for a nice relatively level place to park your rig to camp for the night.

the turning around thing was a big concern. it looks like that i'm within 4'-5' of what verybody else would have to turn around. i was considering putting on a leveling system of some sort (haven't figured it out exactly), so the level camping spot thing wouldn't be to bad to figure out

cnynrat

Expedition Leader
Yup, the unexpected U-turn can be very interesting. It's also a good opportunity to improve your skills at backing a trailer!