DIY M416 trailer lid

Jeepcrz

I am putting a lid/top on my M416 to support a rooftop tent and was looking for some input/advice from some of you that have a similar set up. I have made a steel frame for the top with hinges on one side and gas shocks to lift it. I am toying with the idea of 1/16 alum. diamond plate for the covering or maybe 20 or 18 gauge steel. My only concern with the steel is that I may get the drumming effect while driving down the road. Has anyone notice a drumming effect with the their steel lid, I will fasten it down very well due to the design of the frame, the largest unsupport area is about 33"x36".

My concerns for the alum. diamond plate is the reflection of the shinny surface.

Any experience or input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jeepcrz,
Tucson, AZ

I have VERY little metal experience.

However, I would go with the Aluminum, for weight sake.

Now, you can get the diamond plate stuff easy, but to get rid of the shine... Paint it! :arabia:

You will have to acid wash it first- with aluma prep
If there is a clear coat on it -sand blast then acid wash
-Use a conversion prep [this changes the aluminum to aluminum oxide ]and final use zinc chromate primer .
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/cspages/zinc.php
Top coat with epoxy 2 part coating of your color choice !

Treat aluminum like an aircraft-You will get results !:wings:

I have plans to turn the Delta aluminum toolbox in the back of my truck black :)

Desertdude

Expedition Leader
The lid on the M101 is steel frame with sheet steel riveted on - no drumming noises - I also made two small racks to carry a tent or supplies if I am using the trailer to haul.

I have another landscape type trailer which I made a lid for (about 7 years ago now) I thought I would use 1/8" diamond plate for lightness and strength - the glare is too much to take and at some point I will change it.

ntsqd

Heretic Car Camper