New to the G Wagon

forty4fun

Observer
Folks:

I have recently aquired a 2002 G. I am new to MB having driven Toyota LCs for the last 20 years. I currently have an 80 series with some stuff from Mr. Slee that I will use for harder stuff. During my decision to purchase this vehicle I thought long and hard about the 100/200 series LC but in the end decided I wanted to try something different. First impresion driving it was it reminds me of my 1994 D90 when looking over the hood. Although that is where the similiarity ends !

Anyway, I will be hanging around here and trying to learn from you guys. Don't worry I don't plan to trade in the camoflague T shirts for loafers and a blazer just yet. I do plan to exercise it with some mild offroading to get family up to picnic spots etc. If I begin to annoy you guys with too many questions just let me know. Right now I am deep in the owners manual trying to find out why I have standing lamps and why my GPS cannot locate me

Regrds,

Dave

ChuckB

Expedition Leader
Welcome! I too am thinking about crossing over from the LC side. I will be interested in your opinion. Have fun!

jwlester

Observer
More impressions comparing the LC, Rovers, and MB would be interesting. This has long been the "fork in the road" decision for me. Good luck with the new toy.

traveller09

Agree, would love to hear more of your impressions. I have TLC 80 series and will make a change to something else soon, most likely a G500. I was all set to go down the Defender path but have had a change of mind so I would love to hear your opinion of a G500 vs D90 as well.

forty4fun

Observer
GWagon Impressions

Guys:

Thanks for welcoming me around the virtual campfire.