Can I take my 2x13'1ga dual battery cables on an airplane?

Basement Yeti

Explorer
I need them for my dual battery system. Can I take em on the airplane with me coiled up or should I not chance it and ship them?

-Kyle

G_fresh

Adventurer
I am an electrical engineer. I have taken some pretty scary (to a lay person) looking, hand built circuits before and had no problems. YMMV.

I would not be worried about simple, large gauge wires (without the battery attached)...

This is my "mental model": TSA is more worried about the explosives than the circuitry used to trigger them... The circuits themselves are harmless...

4x4x4doors

Explorer
Not sure if this is still applicable but years ago (pre-TSA), we needed to take some items that the airlines weren't real comfortable with but shouldn't get lost in cargo. They let us check them at the ticket/check-in for airline personnel handling in the cabin (in their packaging). It might be an option.

Basement Yeti

Explorer
Not sure if this is still applicable but years ago (pre-TSA), we needed to take some items that the airlines weren't real comfortable with but shouldn't get lost in cargo. They let us check them at the ticket/check-in for airline personnel handling in the cabin (in their packaging). It might be an option.

Like when you board the plane? Or before then?

-Kyle

adi

Adventurer
Nothing in reg specifically for them, but you might get an agent that says you can strangle someone with them and not allow it (but also lets you keep your belt).

If they ask, get a supervisor there to make final decision. Most of the time they will allow an item that an agent might not.

Large gauge wires are not one of the 4 things they look for in suitcases IEDs.

Basement Yeti

Explorer
I called TSA, they are considered jumper cables and are OK to bring on board. So I shall be bringing them with me in my rolling duffle bag. If I get hassle I'll just get a higher up.

Thanks fellers.
-Kyle

toymaster

Explorer