Picking a winch

Runner1234

Observer
Ive narrowed it down to two winches. The 10000lb vortex winch wich comes with a wireless remote. The 8500 lb Rugged Ridge winch with a fairlead that can hold 2 off road lights. My question is wich one do you think is better for me? (My truck weighs in at about 7000 lbs)

warrpath4x4

Adventurer
i have no experience with either one but its recommended you get a winch 1.5-2 times your vehicle weight. with that being said a snatch block is a powerful friend.

HARDTRAILZ

Certified
The 8500 lb is not enough for your truck. You should look more at 12K. I have good luck with my 12,500 tuff stuff winch. That is right in your price range.

Buliwyf

Viking with a Hammer
Split the difference with a Warn XD9000.

I'm a Warn winch snob. If you need to really pull for more advanced "stucks", get the M12000.

Revco

Adventurer
I have the Rugged Ridge 8500. With a Snatch Block it's plenty enough to pull my heavy Suburban out of most anything.

warrpath4x4

Adventurer
or theres always an old school 8274 thats rated at 8,000 but is more like a 12,000 winch. new ones are some coin but you can get used ones off craigslist for $500 and less

fyreles

I am also a warn winch snob. When you call them with an issue you can talk to someone. Great factory support. I have seven warn winches. The M8000 and the 9000 fast pull are my favs..

Buliwyf

Viking with a Hammer
I am also a warn winch snob. When you call them with an issue you can talk to someone. Great factory support. I have seven warn winches. The M8000 and the 9000 fast pull are my favs..

Exactly. If you live in the rust belt states, the extra cost of the Warn is worth it for the customer service and parts availability.