"Old Man's Toy" offroad teardrop trailer

old_man

Adventurer
While the design isn't purely a teardrop shape, I got my inspiration from teardrops from years gone by. Let me introduce myself; my name is Tom Houston and I am a engineeri by trade. My obsession has to do with Jeep Cherokee's and rock crawling and expeditions. Here is a pix of my tow vehicle.

ExpoRig.jpg

I've been collecting pieces and parts for a couple of years. The design consists of a custom designed steel trailer sprung with airbags, using a one link suspension configuration with a track bar. Here is a pix of the base parts laid out so I could visualize where to start.

PartsLayout-Copy.jpg

I originally picked up a used drop axle with the plan to flip it for more ground clearance. While this would have worked, the trailer ended up being a bit too tall.

TrailerBrake.jpg

Last edited:

old_man

Adventurer
I ended up buying a set of spindles and a piece of 2x2x.25 tubing and welding up my own axle. I milled out a square plate and welded it on the axle to hold the brakes. I sandblasted all the brake parts, painted them with caliper paint and assembled the axle.

On a project of this type, it is important to get everything square, so I used one of these.

WeldingCorners.jpg

Here are a few pix of the frame as things progressed.

DSC_0077.jpg

DSC_0083.jpg

DSC_0081.jpg

DSC_0085.jpg

DSC_0079.jpg

old_man

Adventurer
Once the base frame was finished, I needed to generate the curved rails for the design. Being a design engineer, I whipped up a home brew bender. I snagged a round tabletop bland from Lowes. It is 24" across and has a beveled edge. I cut a 2" slot in the table top to allow inserting a 1x2 rod as a bending handle. I cut some scrap OSB and nailed and glued it to both sides to provide a guide to keep the tubing centered.

DSC_0015.jpg

DSC_0014.jpg

DSC_0013.jpg