Reserving a campsite/RTT

JKJenn

Adventurer
I am new to camping/overland so this is probably a stupid question to you veterans. :)

It seems as though there are a fair amount of if first come first serve campsites on BLM and national forest lands. When travelling with a RTT, how do you "save" or reserve your site if you are not ready to make camp for the day or during a multi-day stay?

Thanks for your patience :)

Jimmeh

Think'n with me dipstick!
Are you talking about specific parks or just a camp site out on forest service lands in general? I don't think you can say you plan on taking a spot in the latter areas, but if it's a specific park, I imagine you just call the BLM or forest service office and arrange it that way, assuming they allow that.

JKJenn

Adventurer
Sorry, didn't word the question very clearly. I am not talking about the type of place where you make an actual reservation. I am talking about dispersed camping, not an official campground.

Xterabl

Adventurer
I think, what he means is: with a ground tent, you can just set the tent up at the site early in the day, then go about your business away from the area (hiking, fishing, etc.). The fact that your tent is set up is your "claim" to the camp site.
So, the question is, with a RTT, what do you do instead to stake your claim to a camp site?

JKJenn

Adventurer
I think, what he means is: with a ground tent, you can just set the tent up at the site early in the day, then go about your business away from the area (hiking, fishing, etc.). The fact that your tent is set up is your "claim" to the camp site.
So, the question is, with a RTT, what do you do instead to stake your claim to a camp site?

Yes, that is exactly what I meant. thanks.

/dev/m416

/dev/yj tow vehicle
Take a small one-man tent, leave it on the site with a chair, etc. That's usually enough, as long as you pay for the site before it gets too late in the evening. YMMV...

MANUCHAO

Aventurero