Fridge Question

Photomike

White Turtle Adventures & Photography
My fridge (3 way absorbsion model) in my Tcer is acting up. I am thinking of replacing it with an electric fridge, I heard that there is a model that can run vertically like a normal fridge, is this true?

Redline

Likes to Drive and Ride
I'm researching the Nova Kool refrigerators right now and considering doing the exact same thing, replacing a 3.0 cu. ft. gas RV refer with a 12 volt unit. I've been looking at the Waeco/Dometic and now the Nova Kool.

As of yet I have zero experience with their products, but I've got to give them kudos for customer service. I've called them twice today and both times the telephone was immediately answered by a real person who was polite, professional, and helpful, which unfortunately is hard to come by these days.

Apparently mobile and off-grid refer applications is 'all they do', a big plus in my mind. And they are in Canada, which is probably good for you.

Photomike

White Turtle Adventures & Photography
I have done a lot of the research and I am leaning this way with a couple exceptions;

- one is the size. With the chest type I will be loosing a lot of space from what I see, with the built in this is less of a problem but not sure about power consumption on the large units. Now many times size is not an issue but I want to see a unit first and see before I make the jump as if I am going to loose too much then this is out.

- the second is the power. I know that I will have to go with a solar panel for power, or carry the generator (not a bad option in itself for back country stays). I do really like the propane option of my current fridge as it runs and runs without any issues on propane and uses VERY little. But I am getting tired of the issues that I am having - not cooling when it is hot out is not fun!!