Diesel Crusier Conversion?

jscusmcvet

Explorer
I am considering a trip to CA to look at this truck:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/e...&ps=63&clkid=9036018524323223794&cmd=ViewItem

I have no experience with diesels, but this seems to be a well thoght out and well done conversion. I know the price is high, but is it really, if I compare it to what it would take to have all of this done to another 84 FJ60?

I have been looking for a vehicle like what this seems...
Reliable
Easy to maintain
lack of elctro goodies
Pull the pop up
Work around the farm
Drive to work

I am currently doing all this in my 2001 Cherokee and can continue with it, this has just peeked my interest. Since I have neraarly always been a Jeep guy, with a brief flirtation with Land Rover, I thought I would throw this out there and see what you think.

John

Expedition Leader
It would all depend on who did the conversion to me. If it was done by Proffitt's or Gerog at Valley Hybrids then it might be worth that kind of coin, but just done by an individual I would be wary. YMMV. I guess you know that a 4BT is wicked noisy and they vibrate if not carefully balanced? A great motor, but not for everyone by any means.

roscoFJ73

Adventurer
Its had 2 owners in 5000 miles since it was done in 08. Its not exactly the vehicle that owners want to drive and drive is it? It maybe ok ,but you would want to take a long hard look at it,preferably under the conditions you want to use it under.

I think for that money you could get a nice 60 and get someone to put something like 1HZ in it.
And then it would be totally driveable

cumminscruiser

Adventurer
Cummins Diesel