Questions about 3/4 ton vs. 1 ton....

matthewp

Combat Truck Monkey
Hey all,

I'm completely new to full-size trucks and am in the (pre) planning stages of a custom camper build (think "mini" Earthroamer), probably somewhere around 1500 lbs of weight for the camper itself, that will be doing some reasonable off-roading. My plan for a base truck is an early 2000s Ford or Dodge (they fit in the price and mileage range I want to start with). I want a diesel engine (planning to leave the engine and trans mostly stock) and would prefer a crew-cab.

Question #1: I am definitely planning on "reinforcing" the suspension when I add a lift as part of the build process. Is there a difference in the design of the trucks that I NEED a 1 ton or can a 3/4 ton do fine with the suspension re-done (I want to stay single rear wheel set-up)?

Question #2: Much more open to personal perception, but does anyone have any specific recommendation as to why I should go one way or the other in regards to brand? I have no specific loyalties except to admit I'm not the hottest on the styling of the Chevy/GMC trucks of those model years (So I may even be open to a Chevy if the mechanical aspects merit it).

Thanks in advance for any guidance folks!

Spencinator

Adventurer
I think for what your looking for a 3/4 ton will be more then enough. I have a dodge diesel 2500 that I will eventually be doing a flatbed with a pop top camper(1300lbs). As far as upgrading suspension, there are many companies that have good kits to improve ride and handling yet maintain factory load specifications. Kore, Thuren and Carli are some of the companies that have the best kits out for Ford, Chevy and Dodge. I chose Dodge for the cummins engine. I upgraded the fuel system, added a little bit of power, and went through my entire suspension. The biggest problems I have with my truck are the automatic trans and the interior falling apart. I haven't had problems with it yet, but they all are weak.