Anybody Waterproof Your RTT?

Rattler

Thornton Melon's Kid
I have a Mombasa RTT that is on it's 3rd year of use. It has seen its share of thunderstorms and has always fared pretty well. I noticed this year though that there has been a few drips inside here and there. Nothing horrible but it is still happening. I got a gallon of waterproofing used on boats recommended to me by my buddy who is a manager at the West Marine I picked it up at. It is made by Starbrite and can be used on the nylon and canvas parts. I haven't tried it yet and can take it back if someone has a better solution.

I found an email address to Mombasa here was their reply:

One of the team management recommended to replace with the new rain fly if it is the rain fly issue, or the body shell if it is the body shell issue.

Thanks

I don't think I will be going that route.

Anyone else go through the process of re-waterproofing their RTT?

nuclearlemon

Adventurer
not sure on the mombassas, are they the thin tent like material, or the heavy canvas like the maggis? for my ground tent, i used a kiwi spray, camp dry, which i think it is a silicone spray. cotton canvases don't do well with silicone based sprays however. for those i use nikwax, which is water based.

compactcamping

Explorer
What I find with Mombasa's, or pick your favorite Chinese import brand, is the need for seam sealing some times. I use Gear Aid Seam Grip for both the PU coated polyester and poly/cotton blend tent bodies.

If you have a poly/cotton blend tent body, I use Aqua Tite brand waterproof when needed. I only do the sides because the fly keep the top protected. If you have a PU coated polyester tent body, leaks will be because the PU coating is wearing, peeling or has pin holes. For a small area, Seam Grip normally will fix the problem. Normally an external waterproofing treatment does little to help if the PU coating has a problem.

Rattler

Thornton Melon's Kid