Keeping my EMT-B

jeepxj13

Adventurer
So I will be graduating in my and entering into the construction industry. I have been a firefighter/emt for the last three years and will miss it dearly. My question is how can I keep my emt-b up to date, while not working at the fire department? I would like to keep it up incase things do not work out I will have options.

JLH9

All you have to do is find the closest Volunteer Fire/Rescue Department and run calls there for a shift a week. Then all of your re-certs will be covered by them.

Why are you leaving, those gigs are real hard to come by, much less get hired for.

HOOLIGAN

The 4x4 Podcast
Some community colleges will off the required CE's for recert. I also check out the any local "professional" fire/EMS agencies. They will sometimes offer recert hours.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2

jeepxj13

Adventurer
All you have to do is find the closest Volunteer Fire/Rescue Department and run calls there for a shift a week. Then all of your re-certs will be covered by them.

Why are you leaving, those gigs are real hard to come by, much less get hired for.

I started as a way to pay for college( I get my tuition paid for) and pay the bills for my wife and I. Now that I'm graduating college with a Building Science degree I can use my degree and be a project manager or stay at the fire department. It is a decision I will have to make come may. It is about a $20K difference a year to stay at te fire department.

AA1PR

Disabled Explorer
its your disonance you have to face, stay in it for helping others or go where the money is

best of luck to you

just volunteer your time somewhere in the end to keep the certs

roamingaz

Explorer
Here in Arizona I had to take a 24 hour refresher course to keep the state license but national registry wouldn't let me renew because I wasn't actively working as a EMT so my card expired in May.

bulrid8

Where are you located?