Dodge Cummins 12v or Nissan Patrol TD42

yukon72

I am trying to decide on a new truck to use touring in the bush and also probably a daily driver. Debating between the 2 I know they are 2 different beasts. I want reliability and fixbility in the bush. I have 2 kids and the old Dodge club cabs have crap for extra seating. I do a lot of camping and have debated a camper so if I go with the Nissan that will be out, but a Roof Top Tent looks intriguing. With the Nissan I will have to tow a trailer more often for getting lumber, hauling firewood and such. But I have used trailers for years.
I also want fuel economy and sounds like Nissan may be just a bit better. Running on Veggie Oil sounds like a future option. I know I will probably want to put a Turbo on the Nissan

Anyone have experience with both of these trucks? I have no experience with Diesel. In the past have owned Ford Ranger, Bronco 2 and Explorer- fun trucks but not built very strong and I dont like things like fuel pumps inside gas tanks and all the computer bs/sensors. The Bronco 2 was fun in the bush but had very little extra room or carrying capacity- it did not like to carry a canoe, and moose in the back...

thnks

redthies

Renaissance Redneck
How do you get a Nissan Patrol into the USA? Or are you referring to the Infinity QX56 rebadged truck?

Look at his location... Patrols are allowed in Canada.

That said, I would go with the Dodge since you mention campers and firewood. Roof top tents are not super fun in the northwest of our country. At least not for more than a month or two per year.

E.Roy

Aspiring Explorer