Help Needed: Concept Camping Stove

Ross_

Hi guys,

I'm a design student at Loughborough (England!) working on a concept camping stove.
The stove has to perform well in a desert environment and so I stumbled upon this fantastic site.
I've managed to find some genuinely brilliant stuff from reading through various reviews and forum threads...
But I was hoping to get some more feedback from you guys, your frustrations with current models, your favourites, the best fuels in your opinions, and maybe features you'd love to see... Anything you feel would be useful, (stories of times it all went wrong!)
Any feedback would be massively appreciated!
If nothing else I've definitely been inspired to get myself out into the middle of nowhere some time soon!

Ross

toymaster

Explorer
I have been looking for a multifuel stove in a "full size" frame. There is a brand available here called Partner and it is a fine example of a stove however, it only runs off of propane. One can find many backpacking style light weight multifuel stoves such as the MSR firefly; I have used mine faithfully for many years. Propane is used here because it is plentiful and easy. I for one do not like to carry around the bottles. For expedition travel having a stove that will run off of petrol, white gas, diesel, and kerosene is very practical.

My vote is to look at the partner and other stove of similar size and place multifuel burners in them. Two burners are best and it would be great if both could be run off of one pressured fuel bottle. I have not checked the flow rates of current marketed systems. My plan was to just plumb in two burners and empirically test the idea.

Yellowkayak

Adventurer