Ham Question: SAR guys what are you using?

irish_11

Explorer
So here is the deal. I don't have my license yet, but I am looking at taking a class with my local club next month. I am looking through options on radios and equipment. Ideally I would like to volunteer for my County's 4x4 Search and Rescue club. I have taken all my FEMA courses, have my CPR/First Aid certs, and the Technicians license is the last thing on my list before I want to apply.

I have been doing some research. I am looking for a mobile rig to put in my FJ62. I know the FT-2900 is a great starter radio, but with what I am looking at doing with it I am thinking the FT-7900 or FT-8800 might be more useful. Thoughts?

I am thinking of using a Comet SBB-5NMO on a Diamond K400 or Comet CP-5 mount. This setup seems like it will work for the cruiser and will not lead to me having to drill any holes.

I am looking for opinions. Go easy on me I am just starting to learn all this stuff. I have my AARL License Manual and have been studying up, but I think the class will help me more.

Thanks,
-Irish

srch4me

Adventurer
So here is the deal. I don't have my license yet, but I am looking at taking a class with my local club next month. I am looking through options on radios and equipment. Ideally I would like to volunteer for my County's 4x4 Search and Rescue club. I have taken all my FEMA courses, have my CPR/First Aid certs, and the Technicians license is the last thing on my list before I want to apply.

I have been doing some research. I am looking for a mobile rig to put in my FJ62. I know the FT-2900 is a great starter radio, but with what I am looking at doing with it I am thinking the FT-7900 or FT-8800 might be more useful. Thoughts?

I am thinking of using a Comet SBB-5NMO on a Diamond K400 or Comet CP-5 mount. This setup seems like it will work for the cruiser and will not lead to me having to drill any holes.