Is the upgrade worth it?

Schattenjager

Expedition Leader
I have a Canon G7 and LOVE IT! It has a lot of very cool features and makes a noob like me occasionally look like I know what I am doing... miracle worker, I tell ya.

The new version, is the Canon G9 has 2 more mega pixels, RAW format, and a larger viewer.

I can sell the G7 for $300.00 and pick up a G9 for $439.00

Are the 2 extra MP and RAW format worth the $139.00 ???

I am no professional, but on some of my zoom shots the image is a bit grainy and on regular distance shots (no zoom) there can be a little grain in low light. Will the extra MP help here? I do not even own Photoshop or Aperture, so I do not think that RAW will be much help, but then again I don't know much about it. Maybe down the road?

Thanks for the input!

greenhorn

Adventurer
Don't mean to hi-jack, but where did you get the price for a G9? I just went to Circuit City today to look at a G9, and they were selling it for $499. Looks like a sweet camera. I'm upgrading from an old Sony Cyber-shot, so I'm looking for info also.

Spenser

Adventurer
Greenhorn-Circuit City Online had the G9 for $449 last week or week before when i purchased mine. The store honored the online price, and will meet any other price, supposedly. Ask them for the online price and you will get it.

Schatten-I just got the G9 and am still learning my way around it. Photog on the board was very open with help and direction, never had the G7 but like the camera alot. There is a site, and I will try to find the link for you, that talks about the G7/G9 comparison, as well as why change or not to change.

http://www.mycanong7.com/

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/index.php?

makes or good reading, as well as the Canon Camera digitial forum. I had no option, never having the G7 but these links might help. Good luck, good camera!

Photog

Explorer
Schatten,
You will definitely like the extra features of the G9 overthe G7.