Barbour styled jacket for less $$$ ????

Hey guys,

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a source for Barbour styled jackets/outerwear. I'd like a waxed cotton jacket that looks good and performs OK... but without spending half a house payment on one.

barbourbond9_1.jpg

Last edited:

Jonathan Hanson

Supporting Sponsor
You're thinking about this all wrong. My first Barbour is now 22 years old, and I'm just about to send it in for reproofing, after which it should be good for another decade. How much more economical can you get? I don't have a single Gore-Tex garment that lasted that long before losing its waterproofness.

Get the original; you won't be sorry.

Last edited:

4xdog

Explorer
I've been wearing a Barbour Border for about twenty years. Enough to see it go in and out of fashion several times. I have other coats, sure, but none that I reach for a fraction as often as the Barbour and none that are remotely close in durability.

X2 on Jonathan's comments above -- go with the original and you'll never look back.

Don

StromHawk60

Observer
And my Beaufort is 15-17 years old with two trips to New England Reproofers for really good waxing beyond my patience level and fantastic repair work. I love mine.

Couldn't help but notice on the pic that the fine brass snaps have been replaced with buttons...

UK4X4

Expedition Leader
Just remember a waxed jacket - ......has an oily wax coating surprisingly

Although re-waxable

Funnily enough on hot days it likes impregnating everything else within 3 ft with oily marks.

Whilst great on a submarine or stored in the tack room of a riding stable in the cairngorms

A cali jeep left in the sun will cause the interior to look like a chip fat fryer exploded within the truck when left in contact with the forementioned Barbour

Obviously it can be worked arround

ie when its taken off you can turn the whole thing inside out for storage unless you put it in a fridge:)

Filson also do waxed tin cloth jackets