SIII 109 upgrade/mod

Allen Bosely

Observer
I believe we have it narrowed down as to what we would like to do.
But I don't know if this is practical or reasonable to do.
So let me know what you think.

We will be building this in the States so we will bring in a SIII 109 5 door Land Rover.

Leaf springs are not a problem we will just upgrade the leafs.

Some of the basics we want are:

Power steering & power brakes. Will use this system if possible so as to fit under Series bonnet.
www.vancopbs.com/category_s/66.htm[/URL]

Salisbury rear axle (I think it comes with Salisbury). Convert front and rear to discs or replace axles to get discs.

Convert to a 300TDi and R380 5 speed.
Or is there a better engine/tranny?
That parts would be available in southern Africa, where it will be going eventually.

The rest is fairly straight forward ARB locker front & rear, HD axles ect..

What body mods will be needed to do this? I'm still learning the names of the different parts like bulkheads,innerwings and such. So please be descriptive.

Allen

overlander

Expedition Leader
look yourself in the mirror and admit it: you want a 110.

Seriously, if you're doing that much, replace the frame with a galvanized 109 chassis that has been converted to coil, and go with a defender drivetrain and powerplant. Go straight to East Coast Rover's website. it is the mecha of north american rovers.

How many large boxes of cash do you have on hand?

How many months do you plan on this taking?
Answer these questions, then multiply each by values of at least three to five ... if you're satisfied with the final result, then (be prepared to) knock yourself out :)

KAA ... 109 project in bits sneaking up on ?? years now :)

gjackson

FRGS
300tdi comes with power steering on the motor. Just use a defender box. Power brakes are easy if you just use the later Defender booster & 300tdi kit.