Newbie asks: departure angle vs. breakover angle

moroza

Hi all!
I'm a mechanic, BMW enthusiast, a newbie with 4x4's, and slowly beginning the build of an expedition vehicle out of an '81 Toyota. I'm trying to keep it as compact and lightweight as possible, but it's apparent to me that the 7 feet between cab and bumper are not enough. 8 feet would be good, but I don't know where to put the extra foot: between the axles by lengthening the wheelbase (Ford springs flipped backwards), or have it dangle over the rear? The former gives me the benefits of a longer wheelbase (ride, stability on hills) but reduces breakover angle. The latter saves me the drawbacks of a longer wheelbase (less maneuverability, more stress on frame) but reduces departure angle. The wheelbase question, per se, I can work out based on experience as a mechanic and driver, but I don't have much experience with the importance of those angles. Those who do, can you give me your $.02 on the tradeoff between departure and breakaway, for typical expedition vehicle use (that is, not rock-crawling, dune-racing...)?

(I'm not sure in which subforum to post this question, or build/question threads about the camper box itself. Suggestions?)

Last edited:

brianjwilson

Some sort of lost...
I've having a hard time understanding what you're trying to do. Are you trying to build a longer bed? Or are you going to build a permanent camper back on the frame?

I'm just thinking out loud but...