MIG welder recommendations for my project

Jfet

Adventurer
Hi, so I am sort of self taught in welding....well, who am I kidding, I am in pre-school.

I have a ThermalArc 185 inverter TIG welder and a cylinder of argon. I have mostly used it in stick mode because I keep dipping the #$@$ tungsten in the puddle every 2 minutes and have to disassemble the nozzle and spend time at the grinder. You might think that as an electrical engineer I would have steadier hands as i can solder 0402 smt resistors and 144 pin TSSOP packages all day long on under my microcope, but no. I think it has something to do with the bright light and intense heat...I have never done meth or taken a big loan from a guy named Sweet Cheeks, so not sure why my hands shake when welding.

So...

If I want to build a big expedition vehicle box out of mostly 0.065 wall mild steel tube, I don't think stick is correct, and TIG will have my build thread spanning into 2030.

Is getting a MIG reasonable? I have great setup skills and have a huge CNC milling machine (7000 pound bedmill) and lathe, so I am not totally new to metalworking, but it is a hobby. If you had a TIG welder, would you consider buying a MIG just for one big project, and if so, which model? I worry a lot about blowing holes in the 1/16" square tubing since most of the welds are butt joints where one piece is going to take significant heat and the other piece is just the edge of the relatively thin square stock.

Thanks!

AFSOC

Explorer
MIG welders are fabulous machines for folks like me who weld so seldom that skills erode or never become well developed at all. I would highly recommend a MIG for general use. You are thinking now that it is a machine purpose for a single project, that isn't true. You will end up using it every once in a while. You may even consider taking on a side welding job to turn the profit into payment for this machine.