A Photographers vehicle?

Kevin Braun

Mountain Biker
I am a photographer here in Atlanta, GA (coming from an event and modeling background) wanting to get back into action sports and outdoor lifestyle and I saw a post about an FJ cruiser setup for outdoor photography.
Which got me thinking....

How do you have your rig setup to support your shooting styles and locations and cameras?
power outlets/availability, gps(s), off-road ability, raised photo platform in your bed whatever you can think of...

I'm trying to come up with a custom build photographer Tacoma, in my case.

What is your ideal setup and wishlist of the perfect setup as a photographer (not vehicle)
or tips that make your vehicle photo friendly

Last edited:

DiploStrat

Expedition Leader
I recently met this gentleman: http://www.steveuzzell.com/photo.html and admired his vehicle. He and his partner are both photographers and are living full time in an Earthroamer which is converted to a mobile photo shoot and studio vehicle. The second seats in the crew cab feature camera bag storage under and have been adapted each to hold a MacBookPro on a swing away "desk." The work stations are wired to a vehicle wide LAN and there is an enormous server farm in the cabinets over the passenger side of the camper. The vehicle features non-skid on the roof for safer shooting.

The whole rig is most impressive. You might want to shoot him an e-mail.

LR Max

Local Oaf
I'm also in Atlanta. What I've found to work very well is a plain vehicle with a trunk...AKA hide everything so others won't see it. Its nice to do work and then throw everything in the trunk then stop somewhere for a bite, knowing the average bum isn't going to see anything in my car...let alone even consider it with a Lexus sitting next to it.