Looking at a 91 FJ80 this weekend, need advice

furdown

I am looking at getting into my first Land Cruiser, anything specific to a LC that I need to check out on it. I am completely new to the LC game and don't know anything about them. Here's what I'm looking at:

1991 FJ80
2.5 OME lift
33" BFG All Terrians(new)
Center Diff Lock

From the pics I have seen it looks pretty clean on the exterior. The interior is in ok shape, with a few stains in the carpet and the driver seat is ripped up some. All foam looks to be in tack, and the rest of the seats look fine. I don't think it's to bad for a 24 yr old vehicle. I am in the DFW, TX area so what price range should I be looking at for this? What is the low spec for oil pressure on the 3FE?

Thanks

fullybalanced

Too many plans, not enough time
maint records... with those 240k is no problem. head gasket and heater hose should have been addressed look for leaks around the birfs (expensive fix). any codes having to do with smog.... other than that they are bullet proof.

arcteryx

Adventurer
Slee's site is good info, start there.

In general, 80 3FEs are slow but durable. Birfs and an axle job are not bad and not too $$$ either and you could do it in a weekend, many write ups on how to do it. They do get cracked heads if they overheat and that can be a pricey repair. If possible, do a compression test on it. Anything under 100 is considered a dead cylinder. You want all of them within 15psi.

furdown

I am a engine tech, so the engine I should have covered. I know my way around a 4x4 pretty decent, just looking for the stuff I didn't know they had, like the birfs lol. Never seen those. thanks

txnight

Adventurer
Yes, it's a noticeable difference in power. 95-97 models are widely considered to be the sweet spot for the 80 series.

The one that I posted has been on c list for a few months. Maybe he is now willing to make a deal.

fjtoyman