100 Series Roof Rack Brackets

RotorHead04

Observer
Im building a roof rack for my 100 LC. The rack was the easy part, now I need brackets to mount it to the roof. Has anyone out there build their own brackets, or bought some to adapt and make work. Pictures and input would be greatly appreciated. I can't wait to get the factory one off and mount mine. Thanks!

IMG_1542.jpg

ricardo

Observer
I'm no expert but is only six ritnuts on each side of the roof..

I'm kind of confused my self in between getting a "Rail" (The water a moisture becomes a issue)..

I will say try to spread the load as much as possible and make the biggest, softer "feet" that you can get to spread the load (I have seeing some supports that are only a inch wide made of metal plate, but Rivnuts and rigid mounting mounts don't get along so well..

jhawk

Adventurer
I ran a six foot stick of 1X1 angle iron down the roof channel, bolted it down in all six spots and used this as the base. Once you have that your options are open. I'll try and get better pictures later.

Jim

IMG_0160.JPG

ricardo

Observer
I ran a six foot stick of 1X1 angle iron down the roof channel, bolted it down in all six spots and used this as the base. Once you have that your options are open. I'll try and get better pictures later.

Jim

View attachment 364210

Wow and not of your rivets have pop out...??

Only Toyota can do that..

Did you pre-bend it..??

Amazing, and I was so worry about it over torquing, surface/stress risers cracks, nightmare scenarios..

oliverlove

Adventurer
From what I understand wider feet are a bad thing. There are many documented cases of roofs being damaged and bent by feet that extend onto the roof itself instead of the rain gutter supporting the weight.

I am talking specifically about Baja Racks, and have no experience with others.

TrekboxX

Supporting Sponsor - TrekboxX