The Ati-Van, my type II ambo gnar-v build out.

epinfRN

In June of 2016 I set out from the East coast to the Southwest for work in a roughly built, shoddy 2003 AWD GMC Savana. She was rusted, ugly and high miles. Her name was Vangela and I loved her. Very unfortunately she succumbed to her rusted frame (which was far worse than I had known) and sold it go a climber who fixed it and, to the best of my knowledge, is still traveling and living out of her. Awesome to hear.

This is Vangela in New Mexico:
IMG_9781.jpg

Her absence left room for an upgrade. I had longed for a longer van and poured longingly for hours over Sportsmobiles and people's other custom take on this adventure platform, particularly in diesel E350s. I had particular interest in type 2 ambulances because, well, I'm a nurse and that's a pretty kitschy rig for a guy like me!

So then I found her. A 2006 E350 that had served as an ambulance in my hometown. I may very well have even taken care of people who were transported in this rig. That was a unique feature and a big selling point. I was really hoping to find a 7.3 PSD instead of the 6.0 due to the newer engine's lackluster reputation, but here was a rig that checked off almost all of everything on my list. So I gave the man a lot of $100 dollar bills and drove this big rig home (jumping the gun proved to be a significant expense for me, but that story comes a bit down the road).

So this is what she looked like the day I bought her:
IMG_0113.jpg