Mitsubishi and Chill - Winter in a Gen 3 Montero

JacobS

Hello all! My name is Jacob and I'm a filmmaker from the east coast, currently residing in Oregon. After browsing the forums and daydreaming for a year and a half, I'm finally the owner of a Montero! (Gen 3)

40380151_10215831857222781_1586149865002369024_n.jpg
127k miles on the clock and I hope to get another 127k out of it.

My goals are simple, obtain a capable 4x4, transform it into the best winter roadtrip-mobile I can with the budget I have, visit the coldest places in North America this winter, and film every step of the journey.

Currently on the agenda this week:

33's
Sleeping platform/drawers
Get together aproper emergency kit/tool kit

Coming months:

Dual battery
ARB front bumper (or have one fabricated)
fabricated rear bumper
backup camera/dash cams (got hit in a parking lot and if it wasn't for a witness I'd have lost out on a check from the other driver's insurance company).
jerry can mount somewhere on the rear
Android head unit

Last edited:

Toasty

Looking for that thing i just had in my hand...
Gen 3's are the Jesus of snow wheeling. Looking forward to seeing some winter action!

Reactions: plh

Imnosaint

Adventurer
Used my Gen 3 as a production vehicle when I was a DP and before it transformed into an overlander. Welcome to the illness.

plh

Explorer
to keep your goal of another 127K, know your service history. Timing belt / water pump PM.

HMSEndeavour