2002 Pathfinder LE mods for overlanding?

bluzcat

Hi there. I have a 2002 Pathfinder with close to 290K on the meter. Engine runs great, but the transmission feels like it needs to be replaced. I bought a new 4Runner, but I’m toying with the idea of fixing up the Pathfinder for overlanding/light off-roading and towing an off-road camping trailer. Since I’ve gotten everything out of the vehicle that I could hope for, it wouldn’t be the end of the world if it got a little banged up or scratched. I don’t want to go overboard, but I’m thinking bigger tires, maybe a front winch, etc. I’m a newbie when it comes to off-road vehicle mods. Is the Pathfinder an acceptable platform for overlanding/light off-roading or am I just wasting my time and money? What are some suggested minimum mods? Thanks.

Airmapper

Inactive Member
Good tires is the single most significant improvement you can make. An AT or AT/MT hybrid will change it's off road abilities by leaps and bounds. Those more familiar might be able to suggest if you can go with a taller size or not without any modifications, I know many vehicles have a bit of wiggle room but I'm not familiar with that generation.

If it has anything like running boards or mud flaps, you might want to remove those so they don't go crunch over uneven surfaces. Running boards are notorious for hanging up on things and causing rocker panel damage over obstacles you probably would have cleared just fine without them.

I'd look into the transmission more, it might just need fresh fluid or something, but it needs a strong reliable transmission if you intend to try off road driving with it. No reason the one it has won't be, but if it's having issues now figure out why and if it's a real issue or just lack of maintenance.