which newer full size 1/2 ton is the best overland platform

Ballbearing

Observer
The best 1/2 ton overland platform is a Ram Powerwagon. 3/4 ton running gear and durability with soft riding coils that support a load like a half ton. There is zero reason to overload any half ton when that truck is available for the same price.

Think about it.
I'd love to have one of those but the fuel mileage reports scare me. It seems that most of the 1/2 tons have a much better range and better mpg. Other than that, I agree that it is about the best platform (on paper anyway). I have no first hand knowledge though.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

VanIsle_Greg

I think I need a bigger truck!
:sombrero: I've had Ford 1/2 ton/Dodge Power Wagons/Ford Rangers and my last (NEW) Dodge Ram 1500-3.92 gears/5,7L HEMI/ZF 8spd auto/4auto-4lo-4hi-

Avg mileage 19mpg and without a doubt it's the latest/greatest pickup I've ever owned-

All leather interior/LED lighting and pure comfort hiwy driving, 19mpg on trip from RENO/Las Vegas-

After all my 4wd pickups/jeeps--this is the most powerful/best mileage/trouble free/enjoyable vehicle, in my stable-

Whatever

:costumed-smiley-007:wings: JIMBO

I have been really happy with my 2014 Ram 1500. The 5.7L / 3.92 / ZF 8 speed with all the other drivetrain goodies is a fantastic combo. I was hooked 5 minutes into my test drive. heh

I have been very pleased with this truck, and other than a few minor issues (exhaust manifold studs replaced under warranty) it has been great. Mileage is better than my 2005 Jeep GC Hemi and it has gobs of room with the crew cab for the kids. I am in the process of building a custom pop-up camper for it (modeled after a FWC Camper) which I am certain it will handle with ease (around 1000#).

I like Ford and looked for a 5.0L crew but could not find one used. I have never owned a Chev truck, and honestly I am not a fan of some of the looks... but the drivetrains seem to be solid.