1st time truck owner (soon to be) and just discovered Overlanding, need help.

reaver

I have been wheeling for 30+ years (I'm not bragging! I'm just old).... THIS ^^^ is solid advice. Go out and learn the limits of the vehicle, and yourself.
If the TRD Pro comes with a traction device, like e-lockers, your already money up. I can make it most places on 28" tires that some Jeeps struggle with... hey are outfitted with every bolt on in the book~ Snazzy bumpers, winch, arb's front and back, long arm kits, anti rock diso's, 33's... etc.

WHY? Because I know my rigs limitations and use it to the best of my ability. Don't get me wrong, some upgrades will be necessary over time to get where you like to go, but driver skill is worth more in the long run! Knowing how to pick lines, understanding your cog, and how your particular rig might adapt to certain terrain based on the advantages/ disadvantages it has.

This is the typical order of things for myself at least.

COMFORT> This is first. If your gonna camp in it and have fun in the outdoor arena then none of the above matters if you get out there and are uncomfortable! This means the gear you tote along on your outings. Nice sleeping platform/ tent or whatever... good bag... you get the jist.

Just drive vehicle initially. See what gets stressed based on conditions your apt to drive in.

Make sure your tires are adequate~ You wouldn't roll out into a snow storm with slicks, right? If you like basic meandering on and off road. Then a good AT tire will suffice. (To many to list...), If your primarily off the beaten path, then a bit more aggressive. And so on. If it's a weekend warrior, consider a set of rollies for the week commute to work and a set of campers to throw on when you head out for the "getaway"! Yah, it's money up front, but you will love it later when your only buying some new cheapo's for the commute.