Introducing the “NEW” Alu-Cab Canopy Camper

jjohnson1892

Adventurer
Nearly done with the interior build! Our fridge will go against the driverside bulkhead, and I need to whip up a shelf for the driverside rear area. My wife and I don't use the small portion of the mattress when sleeping, so I sized the bench to fit it - now we can lounge on it or use it as a couch if we want to be in the camper.

Just about 2 weeks out from a month long trip, feeling a bit better with the build effectively being complete!

IMG_6427.jpegIMG_6428.jpegIMG_6429.jpeg

jjohnson1892

Adventurer
I like it! I'm studying everyone's interior builds since we need a 2+1 sleeping solution. Anything that looks like it'll support bringing the kiddo is a plus.
Thanks! Not sure how tall your kid is, but my wife is 5'1" and can almost lay out on the bench (probably need to be around 4'6" or shorter to do so 100%).

Herbie

Rendezvous Conspirator
She's young and small at the moment, but the pesky kid refuses to stop growing.

If I'm realistic, I need to plan for a 6'+ bed length (and matching internal bench length), since there's an almost even chance I'll end up on the bottom bunk at some point. (Mostly because I'm the early riser, etc.)

lumis

Also a bit random, but if a 6" mattress is on your list I personally recommend the Exped which is 25% off right now through REI (y) https://www.rei.com/product/171116/exped-megamat-max-15-duo-sleeping-pad The dimensions fit the camper's bed section perfectly!

I finally broke down and bought an exped megamat10 which is only 4 inches thick, but it is night and day those things are comfortable. One of the best things is everything fits including my overstuffed pillows which go on the small platform when closed since that small mat is no longer in there. well worth the price tag.