Fuso Canter Transfer Case vacuum actuation

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
Can anyone confirm or deny this?
I cannot comment on the FGB71 setup, as I have no personal experience with that model, but on the FG84/FG140 with a 4M50 engine, there is a dedicated vacuum pump at the front of the engine.
As to your second question... there is only one vacuum source, which things like the brake booster and exhaust brake draw from. The brake booster has it's own circuit, as does the exhaust brake.
As you have noted, the actuating solenoid for the exhaust brake can be triggered by different electrical events, like depressing the clutch peddle or accelerator and be enabled/disabled from the exhaust brake stalk.

Hi All,

Re: disengagement mechanism

Before I go and start taking the vacuum relays circuit apart and probing around why the disengagement does not work, I wonder if the disengagement is done by a kick-back mechanism in the transfer case which only works if the truck is moving?

The reason I ask first, is because it is not easy to move the truck by anything more than 2 or 3 meters as there are other works going on around it at the moment.

cheers

BigSkyBrad

It’s vacuum both ways – the actuator sucks one way to push in the transfer engagement shaft (and hold it there), and sucks the other way to draw it back out again (and keep it out). Is yours engaging , but not disengaging ? - which could be the engaging solenoid is working but the disengaging one is kaput.

There may be a natural kickback out of engagement, but that’s just gears who don’t want to be engaged if they can help it! The vacuum keeps the shaft engaged – if there is no or poor vacuum, a grindy noise can be heard as the gears are semi engaged and fighting.

Even on a good day, vacuum systems suck!

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
Even on a good day, vacuum systems suck!
I totally agree.
In my opinion, a positive connection is a much more reliable system.