1978 Zeli

HarryT

Adventurer
Does anyone know anything about a ZELI? It has an International 466 diesel, 10 speed transmission, divorced transfer case, 3 Rockwell axles (10 ton?), and 2 hydraulic winches. It was used as a line truck by a local utility company (63,000 miles on the working odometer). It drives and stops good, the equipment on the back doesn't work. I'm planning on making it a flatbed and maybe parking a little camper on it. It weighs 29,000 pounds as it sits, I think I can scrap around 10,000 pounds off it.
P1010012.jpg

ntsqd

Heretic Car Camper
How deaf would you be at the end of an 8 hour day of driving it? Seems like most of that type of older truck is mostly lacking in sound proofing though I've no knowledge of any sort of that particular mfg.
If not well sound proofed, could it be done easily?

Another thot, depending on how heavy of a camper you probably don't want or need the second rear drive axle. Remove one and convert the remaining to the same wheels & tires used on the front.

HarryT

Adventurer
Zeli

I bought this truck a couple of months ago for $1800 and drove it home. It came with a driver's suspension seat, 4 kw Onan generator, oxy/acetylene torch, 100 foot air hose, and a few tools. I've been driving it around the property (pulling tractors out of bogs, crushing old cars, and have winched a few stumps out of the ground). I knew the crane didn't work before I bought it.
I can work on vehicles this size and doubt that I will break any of the drive train. I have it registered as a farm truck right now but will change the tags to RV if I drive it out of state. My next move will be to remove the crane, oil tank, and outriggers. Clean it up and take my dog for a ride.

Mobryan

Adventurer
Mind over matter. If you don't mind, It don't matter :D