1985 Canadian Bombardier Radio Iltis HF/VHF

Iltis85

I have a 1985 Canadian Bombardier Iltis, configured for VHF/HF work. I use the Iltis plus the M101 CND2 1/4 ton trailer for ARES work. Depending on the activity, I have it geared for either VHF or HF comms. The Iltis has dual military antenna mounts on the rear that have MIL whips for 30 - 80 MHz. The front HF antenna has a 16 foot Shakespeare whip that will work from 50 to 3.5 MHz, using a SGC automatic antenna tuner. For community service work, I just mount a Diamond 144/440 dual band magnetic mount on the front.

Obviously the front HF whip is only used when the vehicle is stationary. The antenna can be used vertically, or folded for horizontal use for NVIS communications on 40/80 metres.

When we take the vehicles out for public events such as air shows, veterans parades, etc, we install MIL radio gear such as RT-524 and PRC-25 for operations on 52 MHz.

For any Canadian members of the group, interested in trading MIL radio gear, send me private e-mail.

Cheers!
Stuart VE3SMF/VE8SMF/VA3YO
http://www.royalsignals.org.uk/photos/Stuart.htm

Attachments

• Conv_DSC_0752.jpg
    Conv_DSC_0752.jpg
    148.9 KB · Views: 438
  • Conv_DSC_0744.jpg
    Conv_DSC_0744.jpg
    172.1 KB · Views: 365
  • Conv_DSC_0745.jpg
    Conv_DSC_0745.jpg
    120.5 KB · Views: 1,607
  • Conv_DSC_0748.jpg
    Conv_DSC_0748.jpg
    132.9 KB · Views: 297
  • Conv_DSC_0755.jpg
    Conv_DSC_0755.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 284
  • Conv_DSC_0766.jpg
    Conv_DSC_0766.jpg
    138.8 KB · Views: 300
Last edited:

bj70_guy

Adventurer
Cool. That's some HF whip!
attachment.php

Iltis85

Iltis information

I picked up my Bombardier Iltis and M101 CDN2 1/4 ton trailer locally in Ottawa in December 2005. I have enjoyed working on both.