2008 Chevy 2500 D-Max Build

Hackopotomus

Observer
This is my build thread but I don't have a name for the truck yet. ??

I went round and round about what rig to build. In addition to this truck I have a very clean '99 Chevy 1500 Z71 with 120K miles and a '98 Jeep XJ (Cherokee) that is a very competent crawler. The Jeep is on 33's with ARB and Detroit lockers and a ton of other stuff. Kind of overkill for overlanding but nothing wrong with an over built rig. The down side is there is not much room inside. It is also not great on the highway with anything over 65 MPH getting a little squirley.

The 1500 is an extended cab short bed LS 4x4 and could be built but I'd have dumped a bunch of money and work into it to get it where I'd want it to be.

I looked at used ambulances (I'm a firefighter/EMT so very familer with these), 4x4 vans or converting a van to 4x4 (my sister has a Westfalia and has been trying to get me to buy one), class B or C's, even early trucks and COE's and building a custom rig (I build hot rods so could be a cool project).

I eventually decided that the 2500 that I already have would be the best candidate for my needs. I took it on a two week trip in CO last fall (Ouray, Telluride, Lake City, Creede, Crested Butte, Winter Park, Steamboat, etc) and camped out of the back camper shell. It worked okay but didn't like the lack of headroom. I just tossed a 4" foam in the bed and used blankets and a sleeping bag when it got cold. I had a couple storage containers and back packs for other stuff and clothing. That was when I started looking at camper alternatives.

At one of the dispersed camp sites I saw a guy with a 4 Wheel Camper. He let me see inside and I instantly got the "I want its" until he told me he paid close to $30K for it! That was just way too much for me. He did say he had a Palomino before but it didn't hold up to the rugged trails he was doing.