2021 JLUR - Jerry Can spare tire mount and vent questions

donmontalvo

I have been using RotoPAX fuel containers for a few years, but the caps have become harder and harder to use. I'm tossing in the towel and moving to a 20L Jerry Can.

My 2021 JLUR has a Smittybilt heavy duty tire carrier (7743), and I'm running 317/17R70 tires mounted to ICON Rebound Pro wheels.

Questions, or sanity checks, here's what I have built out...
  • Is it possible to add an aftermarket vent, so I can equalize the pressure when I'm in Moab (cold nights, hot days) or Colorado (elevation changes)? if so any recommendations? I found something on Amazon, made for fuel cans, not sure if they'll work with metal.
  • I use a RockSlideEngineering EZ Rack strapped onto a 35" tire, on a tailgate reinforced with a SmittyBilt tire carrier (which replaces the factory hinges for strength).

I put together the mount with the bracket and Jerry Can, but I haven't mounted it yet. I have confidence this setup will be fine, but happy to stand corrected.

IMG_5420.jpegIMG_5421.jpeg1682919159989.png1682919196865.png1682919242897.png

donmontalvo

Update: apparently there are folks running this configuration. Their advice included using the highest rated bolts, nylon-lock nuts, and washers that fit in the recessed bolt holes of the Wavian mount (Home Depot baby!).

They also recommended getting a flexible nozzle because the CARB nozzle that's included is a PITA to use (I'll have to see for myself). Just keep it strapped down tightly and should be fine.

I'll have my 5LB propane tank on the passenger side of the spare tire. I hope to visit the Southern Texas off road BOH trails in an upcoming weekend, will get a chance to camp out a few days and test this setup.

Peter_n_Margaret

Adventurer
Is it possible to add an aftermarket vent, so I can equalize the pressure when I'm in Moab (cold nights, hot days) or Colorado (elevation changes)? if so any recommendations?