77 Ford Modification

jbortt

Hey All, I'm currently trying to sell my 1977 Ford F-100 2wd Truck, it's in good condition and has only 42K miles on it's 300 Inline 6. I'm really in no hurry to sell it as it's only costing me insurance to keep it. If I don't sell it by first snowfall this year, I'll probably start working on converting it to a camping/ overlanding vehicle. Does anybody have any experience in converting a 70s ford truck to 4x4 or using this kind of truck for Overlanding purposes and have suggestions?

Current plans/ dreams, in addition to 4x4 conversion, are to ditch the box and go for a flat bed w/ utility boxes (similar to the pcor flat bed but homemade) and fit a simple camper or roof top tent. Refurbishing the interior to accommodate more comfortable bench seat (I have a dog that likes to sprawl out) and auxiliary controls. I'm totally open to suggestions on avenues to take, comments, concerns, outbursts, even offers if you're interested in the truck.

I'm new to the forum, but not new to camping or auto repair, modification, etc. I've been completely blown away by the Overlanding boom that is taking US by storm. I want to get into it a lot more, but student loans hold me back from going all out and just buying a used 4runner or land cruiser. This is why I'm trying to sell the truck, to pay off one of seven loans. If I can't do that, then f it, I'm building with what I have.

Thanks for any suggestions or advice anyone can give.
(see attached for a few pics of what i'm working with, it's short box!)
Best,
John

Attachments

• merv2.jpg
    merv2.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 26
  • merv8.jpg
    merv8.jpg
    70.4 KB · Views: 26

tom11919