A camper worth waiting for

I figured this would be as good a place as any to start my build thread! I'd like to start by saying a massive thanks to all the members here that have heavily contributed to this forum which will now (hopefully) save me from asking all the usual questions. My girlfriend and I have been living in the UK for the past few years (we're Australians) touring in a campervan to begin with and now a motorhome, but with every trip we venture further off the beaten track. We now feel we're at the point where we would be happy if this was all that our trips were made up of, and our 2wd motorhome just isn't going to cut the mustard (rather unfortunate as it averages 8L/100km!).

Map.JPG
20170613_160055.jpg

We plan to complete one more trip through Scandinavia next summer then return to Australia to buy a used 4x4 Canter and custom build a camper with its first big trip being to drive the Pan American highway. I'm a CNC programmer/machinist for a Formula One team in the UK and grew up in central Queensland on a farm. I feel I have the engineering knowledge and base required for this rather large task. I love the layout of the Australian Earthcruisers so I'd say I'll be drawing from that for inspiration (although rather than the lovely sleek moulded fiberglass, mine will look like a fridge with a poptop!). I'll be building it out in QLD as so far I've been amazed by how many of the major suppliers are there.

Now for the questions and a tie in to the title -

I have underlined my actual questions so you can skip past the waffle!