Adventure Riding Solo: Do You Do It?

BretEdge

Adventurer
I just returned from a failed solo trip on the Utah Backcountry Discovery Route. I'm not one to easily accept failure and frankly it's hard for me to even write this post but in the interest of opening up a discussion that may help myself and others, here we go.

I've got almost four years of experience riding adventure bikes off-road, solo and unsupported. I have one friend who also rides but he's in Colorado and it's tough to coordinate our schedules. So, rather than gaze longingly at my Tiger 800 XC sitting unused in front of my house, I choose to embark upon solo adventures. Until yesterday, this never presented much of a problem. I've dropped this and my previous bike a few times, including once in the mud on Ophir Pass, and have always been able to pick it up on my own - albeit with a struggle. Then, yesterday, I dropped it in deep sand in the Abajo Mountains. Twice. Within 50'. I tried for an hour to pick it up and couldn't because my feet kept slipping in the sand every time I got the bike half way upright. So I gave up and sat on the side of the road hoping someone would come along to lend a hand. It was 8:00 PM, getting dark and I was in the middle of nowhere. Luckily, at about 8:30 a truckload of hunters came by and helped me right the bike. Twice. They were also kind enough to point out the fresh bear tracks right by my bike. Then, on the way out, I came within inches of hitting a deer. I finally made it to Blanding and a hotel where I collapsed onto the bed and passed out.