An expedition truck on portals...

Project Rhino - The LR130CC-R(hino)
The first 9 years (2009-2018)

That’s it! After 9 years on the road, 269.439km on my prototype 5” bolt-on portals (original TD4 engine), and many great adventures it’s now time to fully strip and rebuild the Rhino and then completly finish this project, including the change of engine and drive.

20180117_Ls-tex4x4_Rhino_Restauration_begins_01.jpg

20180117_Ls-tex4x4_Rhino_Restauration_begins_02.jpg

As this project of mine now enters a new phase and thanx to my new partner in Rallyewerk Automotive we are taking the effort to finish this project to my original plans, which sofar time and funding have prevented.

So, I’d like to hereby again thank everyone who’s supported and sponsored this dream of mine over the past 9 years.
Without you I would have never gotten this far and could have never build nor enjoyed driving this awesome car.
The current pageview count on the forums that I know of us just over 2.000.000 (!) views! THANX!!!

Autohaus Brückner & Hofmann http://www.brueckner-hofmann.de/
Ashcroft Transmissions http://www.ashcroft-transmissions.co.uk/
Bowler Motorsport http://www.bowler-offroad.com/
Expedition Portal http://www.expeditionportal.com/
Extrem Fahrzeuge http://www.extremfahrzeuge.com/
Därr http://www.daerr.de/
Defender Naegele http://www.offroadservice.de/
Devon 4x4 http://www.devon4x4.com/
Desert Foxx http://www.desert-foxx.com/
Genesis Import (Steppenwolf) http://www.genesis-import.de/
Landy Scheune / Ls-tec 4x4 http://www.landy-scheune.de/
LPI http://www.trekk-4x4.be/
Maltec Leichtbau http://www.maltec.org/
Nokian Tyres http://www.nokiantyres.com/
Nolden GmbH http://www.noldengmbh.de/
Offroad Extrem http://www.offroad-extrem.de/
Offroad Manufaktur http://www.offroadmanufaktur.com/
Overcross http://www.overcross.com/
Overland Journal http://www.overlandjournal.com/
Tibus Offroad http://www.killeraxles.com/
Sandtler GmbH http://www.sandtler.de/
Red Winches http://www.red-winches.com/
Rigid Industries http://www.rigidindustries.com/
Rasta 4x4 http://www.rasta4x4.com
Rival 4x4 http://www.rivalautomotive.com/
Safety Devices http://www.safetydevices.com/

I´ll keep you updated as the frame-off restoration commences and the rebuild is done over the coming weeks and will then also share some more information on what´s going to be added, replaced or changed on my truck.

I have one question for you guys though. I´d like to safe a considerable amount of money and also time as I´ll need to get the front part of the chassis (up to the transfer case), including the wings and the bulkhead scanned to see if the drive conversion will fit and also pre-fabricate mounts, etc.
So, does anyone have or know where I could get reliable CAD data of this aforementioned section of the Defender TD4 Puma?

Thanks!!!!!
 
Hi Robert,

Saw an article in one of the Land Rover magazines about you being involved or going to install a hybrid engine in the beast, any update about this, or some site where I can find some more info about this.
Take care and lots of fun in the US in the new year.

Marco.

...and yes, Marco, that´s true and we´re already working on the prototype kit at one of my project partner´s HQ ;-)
More info later as the rebuild commences....