Andy's 100 Series Build

Awkragt

Adventurer
Late start to a build thread, but here it goes:

After a serious road trip from Seattle to Utah and Colorado last fall I realized the 2 door jeep just didn't have the space for long trips with kids. We made it, but it was a compromise with all our crap hanging off the back. I started looking at larger options. Initially I was headed for an LR3 but after 2 test drives, both with 60K miles and suspension creaks and wobbles I decided I didn't want a British car.

So I arrived at the Landcruiser. Since I have the jeep, off road was secondary to comfort with this vehicle, hence the 100 vs. the 80. I picked up a 98' with 209K miles. First photo was from the ad. (here on expo)

No mods so far. I've removed the way back seats and cranked the front torsion bars a half inch to eliminate some of the sag it's accumulated over the last 14 years. I'm still learning the capability. The second photo, the muddy one was 15 minutes from my house. I had to call my wife to get the jeep and rescue me. Same weekend I also got stuck in the snow, had to dig out myself on that one.

I'm planning lots of camping and maybe a California road trip this summer.

Mods wise I am thinking running board removal and sliders, followed by lift and tires once I wear out the current set or the family outgrows the jeep.

The land cruiser brings back the early days of wheeling where getting stuck was a regular occurrence. Getting stuck, bottoming out on obstacles was challenging and fun and I'm glad to have found that again with this cruiser.
2012-04-28_17-30-13_743.jpg

photo.jpg

Updated Photo:
2014-09-21 13.01.01.jpg

Last edited:

yohavos

About time you called it a build! I bet the car seats fit better in the hundy. (Congrats by the way)

Let me know if you ever need a hand, or if its trip time. East side, or even just up to the Wynoochee area.

==
Mike

irish_11

Explorer