ARB Cargo Gear Storm Bag Review

SilicaRich

Wandering Inverted
I received an ARB Cargo Gear Storm bag (large) a little over a year ago as a birthday gift and loved it, but was always curious how well it would hold up. I love ARB and know their reputation for the quality of their products, however, I have little to no knowledge of their cargo gear. Regardless, the bag was a must have being that I drive a 2005 TJ that has basically no cargo room and needing a bag that is weatherproof to mount up on my roof rack.http://store.arbusa.com/ARB-Cargo-Gear-Storm-Bag-Large-10100350-P3618.aspx This is my particular bag, however, they make a smaller version as well.

At first glance, the bag has plenty of room for whatever you are needing to pack, me personally I pack my clothes, tent, hammock, and really all my needs. On either side of the interior of the bag there are mesh side pockets, for undergarments or such, and a nice square bottom for what I would say helps in organization. The bag uses a roll top closure and velcro. You then clip and tighten the 4 straps on the bag and now you are "stormproof". In some cases, when you close up the bag you don't always exactly attach with the velcro but that is no issue. As long as the straps are tight and prevent the top from unfolding, the bag is weatherproof.

Personally, I love this bag and if anything have abused it since the day I got it. Any chance I get, the bag goes on my roof rack to open up storage in the rear. Passing through some rain while driving? No problem! The bag is as stated, stormproof. However, I didn't get the true test of how stormproof this bag was until a week trip in Big Bend National and State Parks over New Years.