Auxiliary Gasoline Storage

Hey all!

Looking for inspiration on how you guys carry spare gas, whether in cheapo plastic jerrycans, Rotopax, larger capacity replacement tanks, or even not carrying spare gas and the reasons why.

I've been using a cheapo 5gal jerrycan for a while and it has done the job, but I'd like to have the ability to carry more fuel to expand my range. I'm planning on getting either 1 or two of these (http://titanfueltanks.com/products/sidekick-tank) and while I'm not too concerned about using them under a canopy, I'm open to your guys' thoughts on that!

I have a couple Scepter MFCs. I keep one in my Jeep when I think I might need extra fuel. I have kept Scepter MFC cans in my Jeep or Hummer (while in the Army) since the 90s and never had an issue.

Those Titan storage tanks would work great in a PU bed but many have enclosed vehicles and there is no place to put that type of equipment.
I have been using the Nato jerry cans for about 30 years. They are strong, don't leak and allow a 20 liter (5 gal) capacity. Now I usually only carry two on the vehicle for extended trips, usually I am within range of a station but I do keep an eye on the fuel gage.
Tried the Jeep cans but they leak and the Nato cans don't.

rayra

Expedition Leader
That sidewall tank is a neat idea but at a ridiculous price for the volume stored. $450 for what could be done with (3) scepter 'civilian' 20L jugs for $60. And the jugs are portable, can be carried in an emergency, while the fixed tank wouldn't.

pluton

Adventurer
I've had the cheapo pre-CARB plastic cans, the cheapo CARB ones with the ghastly spouts, the heavier ones they sell at dirtbike shops, the Scepters and the current euro-Jerrycans. The euro jerrycans are the least leaky of vapor during storage. I carry them on the roof rack, so I can't say if they stink up the car interior during transport.