California Defender owners please chime in

Kiriesh

Adventurer
Hi guys, let me preface by saying I've done a fair amount of research so far and I know the struggles of registering a defender in California. CAFE seems to have shut down every idea I've come up with on being able to bring a defender in. In an ideal world I'll wait until I find an older 110 that needs restoring that has already been registered in California, but unfortunately that is either unlikely or going to be very, very overpriced. There is one minor loophole I think I can use but I keep hitting dead ends on research. I read in a couple different forums that there is a way to bring in registered out-of-state vehicles despite CAFE issues as long as they have been registered for 2 years and you cannot change ownership. I can't find any cases of anyone actually doing this and I cant find any more info on the DMV website. Does anyone have experience with this? I have a unique situation where I am an out-of-state student that can potentially register it at my apt in Massachusetts for the required time period prior to changing registration to California where I plan to move back to once I finish my degree.

vasily

Adventurer
Step one: move out of California

Step two: get whatever defender you want and register it in your home state

Step three: visit California

pugslyyy

Expedition Vehicle Engineer Guy
When I lived in California I ended up registering my Defender through a mail forwarding service in Texas.

Kiriesh

Adventurer
Step one: move out of California

Step two: get whatever defender you want and register it in your home state

Step three: visit California

Considering my entire immediate family, my SO's entire immediate family AND extended family, and my major job prospects are all in California... No, I am not uprooting my life for an SUV.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

zelatore

Explorer