CB Radio help..

mosovich

Observer
I've searched and chased a lot of leads, but have now answers.. I'm a total newbie, but want to be prepared, not be a burden when I get with a group at some time or another to ride..

So, I'm thinking the one thing I need more than "modifications" is a CB radio so I can communicate.. I want something small, (hand held?) that doesn't take up a lot of room, my truck is my DD, not just a weekend driver..

Any help is GREATLY appreciated as I know nothing..

Thanks...:bowdown:

Inyo_man

Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining.
There are many options to choose from...
I've worked with the mob in the link below and they were very helpful

http://www.rightchannelradios.com/

If this is your first purchase, be sure to read up on the subject of antennas and ground planes.
Good Luck

Black Dog

Makin' Beer.
I like the Cobra 75 WX ST for exactly the criteria you are looking for. It is basically two parts: number one is the actual transceiver that you install under your seat or somewhere out of the way (they say not under the hood) and the second is the hand held unit with speaker and microphone and controls and stuff. Just add an antenna and you're set.

Hilldweller

SE Expedition Society
I like the Cobra 75 WX ST for exactly the criteria you are looking for. It is basically two parts: number one is the actual transceiver that you install under your seat or somewhere out of the way (they say not under the hood) and the second is the hand held unit with speaker and microphone and controls and stuff. Just add an antenna and you're set.
X2

I've used these a couple of times.
I mounted a remote speaker last time too.

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
I use the Midland 75-822. Great thing about it is no installation required. It's designed to work as either a hand held or a vehicle mounted unit. I've never used mine in hand held mode but have used it for about 5 years in my vehicles.