CB solution -- no drilling

edgear

aventurero, Overland Certified OC0012
For those of you that want to be able to communicate via CB while out on the trail, but don't want to drill any holes into your rig, here is a good solution:

pRS1C-2266305w345.jpg

I've been using this RadioShack handheld unit for a few years now, along with a magnetic roof-mount antennae. I hope someday to upgrade to a 2M radio. Is anyone aware of a decent handheld 2M radio, or are they all units that need to be hard mounted?

Ric

Adventurer
true but Ive heard the handhelds dont work very good, on the 4Runner or Tacos you can do this:
IMG_2954.jpg

its a Cobra cb, fits perfect under the radio, radio was only $50 online at walmart.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
That Radio Shack handheld CB is $100! For that kind of money you can buy a Yeasu VX-150 or Kenwood TH-K2, both nice 5 watt, very capable 2 meter handhelds. Heck, the Alinco DJ-S11 is only $85, although it's only got like a 0.5W transmitter it's about the size of a deck of cards.

BogusBlake

2006 Expedition Trophy Champion
Ric said:
true but Ive heard the handhelds dont work very good, on the 4Runner or Tacos you can do this:
IMG_2954.jpg

its a Cobra cb, fits perfect under the radio, radio was only $50 online at walmart.

Go-Go-Gadget-Taco!
Do you get distracted driving that thing?

I have the same handheld CB as Tacozona but I have a much better antenna. It works great (for a CB) after I tuned the antenna. Ill be heading down the 2M path soon though.

Last edited:

kcowyo

ExPo Original
I can vouch for the Dude's 2M handheld. I borrowed it in Death Valley and it worked great for listening in on group chat. And yes, I really was listening.