Computer monitor

xjaugie

Adventurer
First let me say, I'm asking this question here and not on a photo guy site because, we all shoot basically the same style of photos and I think the answer will be more real life and not mico over analized as to which is better one over the other.

Basically, I need to get a computer monitor that will allow me to edit my photos correctly. I've noticed a big difference from my Laptop to the standard monitor I use in the office. What's working for you guys? what is really needed? and what is just overkill?

P.S. I'm color blind really, really bad, yep and I'm a photographer. I let the color be what it is and look for lighting and composition.

JackW

Explorer
I just bought a new Dell U2412M UltraSharp 24" LED Monitor from B&H photo for $279. It gets high reviews and is an IPS panel - best bang for the buck in monitors I could find. I use Photoshop CS6 and am trying to learn Lightroom 5.

This replaced a 22" Delll that finally died after a few years of editing thousands of photos. I calibrate the monitor with an Eye1 display unit.

xjaugie

Adventurer
If you do a basic calibration any monitor will work for your needs, I think.

I did the basic calibration on my laptop, but noticed the other day, how much different photos look between our monitors here at work from on desk to the other. Just a little worried that I go to the whole process of post prodiction on my lap top at home and the photos look different on every other monitor and in print.

photo_i

Explorer
Just a little worried that I go to the whole process of post prodiction on my lap top at home and the photos look different on every other monitor and in print.

Pictures will look different on each monitor unless all monitors are calibrated the same way. :) As for print - I usually print my own photos to avoid dealing with this matter at the lab. :)

BretEdge

Adventurer