Considering Lifting My Suburban

shifty98

Observer
Currently I have an 04 Suburban 1500 4WD LT. It is pretty much bone stock except fender flares, tow mirrors, radio head unit, and rear air bag suspension. It is approaching 300,000 miles. Currently it is my daily driver but that could change soon. I plan on replacing the current set of tires before next fall and discovered today that I am in need of new shocks. I figured this is probably a good time for me to consider lifting it. I am not looking to build a monster rig at all. Just something that will get me where I need to go to have fun outdoors. I am currently thinking of going with a 3" suspension lift and 33s. I wouldn't mind running 35s but I would like to keep the cost low because I am a college student and don't want to throw a ton of money at a 300K truck. I just want to be able to get off the beaten path without beating up my undercarriage. That said it runs really well so I want to not be afraid to take it off road and right now my main concern is clearance.

Here are my questions:
Any suggestions as far as lift goes?
If I do lift it are there any other costs to consider besides the cost of the lift and tires?

Here is what I am looking at.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01AHR74M2/ref=psdc_3150551011_t2_B01AX9FSCW

Matt_

Observer
I've been in your shoes, on my 2005 Silverado back in college I did the cheap torsion bar "lift" with shocks and 33s. Told myself the ride was good, it but wasn't, and I knew I was screwing my front end up, especially when wheeling... lack of travel made washboard firerpads roads really rough, and the front end just got knocked around if a tire found a rut in mud holes . Within a year I went with the full suspension lift and was much happier. Then when my 33s wore out I went with 35s.