Diesel Mog mileage

OS-Aussie

Adventurer
Ok guys I have a couple of questions...

Who has high speed diff ratios installed and is there a decent mileage increase ?

What kind of speeds did you guys run at on the freeways / highways in the US ?

What appears to be the optimum freeway speed, not just mileage, but also noise and safety feel ?

oonimog

Adventurer
Mileage

You didn't mention which model you're interested in but here's my experience:

I have high speed diffs and a 170hp 352A (turbo) in my U1300L37. On 14.5's (365/80) it cruises comfortably at 100kph and consumes about 19-20L/100k. It's only ever had the high speed axles so I have no personal experience on the mileage difference between standard and high speed axles. But, during a long trip taken with a friend who's U1200 has standard axles, he used a fair bit more fuel than I did. No surprise given my lower RPMs at the same speed.

As for safety, the truck is quite stable and handles well at 100kph, but I think it's most comfortable at 95k. I'm sure the wheel base helps. I've driven a friend's 1550 with a tweeked OM366LA, high speed axles, Claas overdrive, and 395/85's up at 125-130 kph and things start to get a bit spooky at that speed.

I've spent many long days driving for weeks at a time and noise hasn't really been a problem, but the cab is insulated.

Hope this helps.

Chas Stricker

Adventurer
I have a 1250L DoKa with the 352a (turbo). It has the "superfast" axles and at 100kph(62mph) it runs about 2200-2300 rpm. Empty it gets about 11mpg and towing about 9-10mpg. My truck will do 75mph rapped out. It is very stable at that speed yet you feel like you're pushing it (mechanically not stability wise). I don't have alot of insulation yet but it still is quiet enough for my family to travel. Did I happen to mention it can be slow in the passes (35-45mph)? I don't mind because I think slowly also.
Chas